Welcome to the Lancaster City Treasurer's Page

Lancaster City Treasurer
Treasurer Wolfinger is a Lancaster native graduating from Lancaster High School and earned a Bachelor degree from Ohio University.  He was elected Treasurer in November 2007.  Mr. Wolfinger retired from a 36 year career with National City Bank now known as PNC Bank in December 2007.  The early portion of his career was spent in Retail Banking serving as an Area President and regional manager of several divisions.  The latter 25 years was spent in the Bank's Corporate Banking division as a Senior Vice President managing middle market relationships by providing credit products, treasury management services and bond financing.

Duties of the City Treasurer
The City of Lancaster is a statutory city and governed under the Ohio Revised Code.  The primary duties of the City Treasurer are as follows:
  • Insure that all funds received by the City are properly deposited into financial institutions.  This includes money intended for the General Fund as well all Enterprise Funds.  Incoming receipts would include cash, checks, credit cards, wire transfers, ACH and any other form of Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT's).
  • The Treasure is responsible to invest funds in order insure interest income is maximized while at the same time maintain safety and liquidity to meet upcoming cash requirements.
  • The Treasure is required to reconcile the Auditor's (book) balance with the Treasury (bank) on a monthly basis.  Any discrepancies need to be identified and make appropriate adjustments.

Contact Us

  1. Bob Wolfinger

    104 E. Main St.
    Room 106
    Lancaster, Ohio 43130

    Phone: 740-687-6617
    Fax: 740-681-5064
Past City Treasurers

Robert C. Wolfinger                 2007 -           (1)
Wayne Roller                           2007 - 2007  (2)
Jack L. Rupe                           2002 - 2007  
A. Gene Ash                            1982 - 2001  (3)
Jean Tobias                             1974 - 1981
Karen H. Kelley                        1970 - 1973
Annabel Pickering                    1967 - 1970  (4)
Charles C. Pickering                1964 - 1966  (5)
James P. Reid                          1960 - 1963
Arthur C. Everett                       1955 - 1959
John Eggert                              1952 - 1954 
Arthur C. Everett                       1934 - 1951
Loys M. Derbyshire                   1930 - 1933
Otto J. Kindler                           1928 - 1929
G.E. Smetters                           1926 - 1927   
Joshua Clarke                           1924 - 1925
Charles C. Cloud                       1920 - 1923
Henry A. Alspach                       1918 - 1919
Henry Albert                               1916 - 1917  
Frank Beck                                 1908 - 1915

(1)  Elected to fill unexpired term 11.2007.
(2)  Appointed to fill vacancy by Republican Central Committee.
(3)  Resigned from office.
(4)  Filled unexpired term then ran for office was elected to a full term, died in office.  Karen Kelley appointed to fill unexpired term.
(5) Died in office, Annabel Pickering appointed to fill unexpired term.